This thread is now archived and closed to new comments.
If you have a question please post a new topic.
Contributing User
Jazza
Australia
0 Kudos

How do I enter bank fees?

I'm fairly new to MYOB and am having trouble working out how to enter bank fees into MYOB so I can do the bank reconciliation.  Can someone please advise.

Thanks

Please use plain text.
Ultimate Partner
Clive
Australia
0 Kudos

Re: How do I enter bank fees?

Hi Carole,

Spend Money - use FEE as the cheque number and allocate to the bank fees & charges account.

Regards

Clive Williams

MYOB Certified Consultant & Accredited Trainer; Ostendo Consulting Partner
Cert IV Financial Services (Bookkeeping); Cert IV Training & Assessment; BAS Agent 92620 006
Providing on-site MYOB support in Sydney, the Blue Mountains and Hawkesbury
Remote support available for MYOB throughout Australia
Mobile: 0418.657.833 AH (02) 4754.4151
email: clive@crwservices.com.au website: www.crwservices.com.au
Please use plain text.
Ultimate Partner
Julie_A_C
Australia
0 Kudos

Hi Jazza

Enter bank fees as per Clive's message but just make sure you code correctly as to GST.  Most bank fees have no GST but some do.  Merchant fees all have GST, amex fees have GST, direct debit fee charged each time you upload an ABA file at the Bendigo Bank have GST, quickline fees with Commonwealth Bank have GST, Westpac's online banking fee has GST etc etc.  Commonwealth puts a (T) next to their bank fees that have GST.  Bendigo sends a tax invoice at the end of the month for all the direct debit fees charged during the month.

Check with your bank if you are unsure.  Just make sure that you get back from the ATO what you should get back.  I always tell my clients that I would rather a cent in their pocket rather than the Tax man's pocket.

Julie Carter AIPA, BBus(Acctg),
MYOB Professional Partner, Registered BAS Service Provider
Associate Member of Institute of Public Accountants
ph: 0417 927 654 email: accuratebooks7@gmail.com