Annual leave rate after maternity leave

user_VD
3 Posts
User
New Zealand

Annual leave rate after maternity leave

Hi everyone, I am a newbie to this forum.  I have found it very useful in the past reading other people's questions and answers etc. 

My query is around the annual leave rate after someone has come back from maternity leave.  This staff member was originally working 40 hours per week (8 hours x 5 days).  She took 6 months maternity leave and came back about 3 weeks before her anniversary date.  When she came back, she worked very reduced hours of approximately 13 hours a week (plus some more as needed) until about 3 months after she returned to work when she then built back up to 37.5 hours per week.

She returned back to work on 4/10/16.  Over the Christmas holidays, in the pay cycle ended 6/01/17 (which is for a fortnight), she was paid for 13 hours of stat days at her normal hourly rate ($25/hr) and 13 hours of annual leave at her normal hourly rate (which I now realise I shouldn't have done but I relied on advice from our accountant at the time).  Yesterday I was speaking to the help desk who advised that I should restore the backup for this paycycle to see how much should have been paid etc.  Now other forum posts and the support notes on the website speak about annual leave after maternity leave being paid out at a really reduced rate due to the fact it is based on average earnings.  However, when I went back in to enter in the details and followed through the instructions from http://help.myob.com/wiki/display/suppr/Setting+up+an+employee+on+parental+leave+and+paying+annual+l... the annual leave rate actually came out at $27.71846/hour (which is more than her normal hourly rate).  This is because the average weekly earnings rate based on her last 12 months earnings, is now divided by her very reduced normal hours per week (13 hours now as opposed to 40 hours previously).  Is this correct?

Many thanks in advance for any advice. 

4 REPLIES