Thank you for visiting our Partner Zone. This area is an exclusive space for MYOB Partners. Find out how to Partner with MYOB.
I have started a new financial year and I am trying to delete some accounts that I am not longer using, those accounts have not been used for the last 2 or 3 years, however when I am trying to delete them, I got a message as follows:
"An account that is linked to a job history record may not be deleted". If you give me some advice on how to delete them, that'll be appreciated.
Solved! Go to Solution.
When a job is applied to a transaction an entry is added to the history record for that job. This entry remains even if that transaction is later purged during a financial year roll over. This record remains in the system as long as the job still exists and will prevent the account being deleted. To delete the account the job must first be deleted. If you are unsure which job has the history record create a copy of your file and delete each job in turn, before attempting to delete the account.
If you do not want to delete the job an alternative would be to mark the account as inactive. This will prevent it from appearing in selection lists when entering transactions.
It would be also good to update job code. If I delete a job code that has not been used for the last 2 years, please let me how this could affect the accounts. If MYOB software allows me to delete a job code, is it safer to do so.
Thanks in advance,
Jobs are an optional feature which helps when wanting to report or track specific transactions. You can safely delete Jobs. This will not affect your accounts or any transactions. It will simply mean you can no longer be able to report on this Job as its history will be deleted.
If in doubt, and as good practice, make a backup before making these changes. After making any changes, for your own confidence, check that all is in order by comparing reports or accounts before and after. You will have your backup should you want to go back and "keep" the jobs in the file.