MYOBCommunity
Partner Zone
|
|
Partner Zone

Share your ideas for improving the new AccountRight. Vote on ideas and discuss them with the MYOB product development team.

AccountRight

Inventory - PO and Receive Items - are they doing what they should?

ASWatCR
Partner

239Posts

447Kudos

0Solutions

239 Posts
Partner
Australia
New
New

This suggestion is focused on inventory and in particular how the purchase orders and "receive items" operate. 

I admit I am new to this level of detail in inventory, but can certianly follow the logic behind it. 

This happened to one of my clients last week who had just started using inventory:

(I converted the example to simple numbers). 

1) Entered a PO for 10 items x $1,000 - $10,000. 

2) Physically received 6 and then used the "Receive items" function (as they had been already been sold)

3) Paid the PO at face value which was now - 6 items x $1,000 - $6,000

4) Supplier phoned and said why have you short paid - they were supposed to pay for the order in full.

Client obviously did not realise that when they used "Receive Items", the actual value of the PO changed (i.e. from $10,000 to $6,000 - based on the number actually received).  This got me thinking, what happened to the other 4 units (we still wanted them, and where has the audit trail gone for them?) - but also how should we pay for them given typically payment must be made before the items are shipped?

Option 1: Pay $10,000 even though the PO says $6,000 and sit in credit until the final goods are received and/or PO is converted to an invoice.  Probably the simplist option, but does rely on the client knowing NOT to pay what the PO says.