Partner Zone

Please restrict non Admin Users from Upgrading the company file

This thread is now closed to new comments.
Some of the links and information provided in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question please start a new post.
AndrewStephen
Valued Cover User
1,284 Posts
Valued Cover User
Australia
Valued Cover User

1,284Posts

209Kudos

17Solutions

Please restrict non Admin Users from Upgrading the company file

Can you please with the next update restrict non-administrator users from upgrading the company file?


I just had a trade counter computer prompt to upgrade while we are still trading and I wasn't in at the time.

The trade counter team member clicked yes to the update and then to the update which proceeded to kick out all other users and upgrade the company file. Grrrrr

 

I didn't realize this was the case until today as I am the one the normally does all the upgrades.

The amount of work that was lost when 4 of us got kicked out wasn't funny.

5 REPLIES 5
Steven_M
MYOB Moderator
44,221 Posts
MYOB Moderator
New Zealand
MYOB Moderator

44,221Posts

6,084Kudos

6,602Solutions

Re: Please restrict non Admin Users from Upgrading the company file

Hi @AndrewStephen 

 

Thank you for your feedback in regards to AccountRight


The thoughts behind all users to upgrade a company file is that when users receive the automatic upgrade prompt to upgrade to the latest version they can upgrade the file and get going with that new upgrade. This is to reduce downtime for that user while they seek an AccountRight Live Administrator to download and install that update to upgrade the file. 

In saying that, I have shared your feedback with the team around the potential to restrict users from upgrading the file in the future.

Kind regards,
Steven

MYOB Community Support

Online Help| Forum Search| my.MYOB| Download Page

Sinclair
Experienced Cover User
29 Posts
Experienced Cover User
Australia
Experienced Cover User

29Posts

30Kudos

1Solutions

Re: Please restrict non Admin Users from Upgrading the company file

Yes this!!!!!!  We have spent 2 hours this morning trying to reset and upgrade everyone because someone accidently upgraded our file before all the computers had the new version installed, not to mention the downtime of all staff while they waited.  Automatic updates do not work on our system and each one has to be done manually. Not all our users are IT savvy and they do not understand the consequences for everyone else by prematurely upgrading the file.

Where do we receive notification that there is going to be an upgrade released?  At least then we could plan the updates, not walk in to chaos because MYOB has upgraded overnight.

I'm so frustrated today. Calling MYOB is no help as the wait times are utterly ridiculous, then the person you speak to cant help anyway.

AndrewStephen
Valued Cover User
1,284 Posts
Valued Cover User
Australia
Valued Cover User

1,284Posts

209Kudos

17Solutions

Re: Please restrict non Admin Users from Upgrading the company file

Hi @Sinclair 

The upgrade process if using the browser version is even worse than the desktop version.
I was using the browser version last night to document all its shortcomings and got kicked out.
Then got a message saying "Business needs to be upgraded"
When you click "Upgrade business now" it upgrades the database version.
No message about using being connected nothing. Anyone using the Browser or Desktop version is kicked about and work is lost. This is not acceptable.

Freman
Trusted Partner
87 Posts
Trusted Partner
Australia
Trusted Partner

87Posts

10Kudos

2Solutions

Re: Please restrict non Admin Users from Upgrading the company file

@AndrewStephen

@AndrewStephen wrote:

..

The thoughts behind all users to upgrade a company file is that when users receive the automatic upgrade prompt to upgrade to the latest version they can upgrade the file and get going with that new upgrade. This is to reduce downtime for that user while they seek an AccountRight Live Administrator to download and install that update to upgrade the file. 

This is an amazing insight into a skewed development thought of MYOB...

If an admin/owner decides not to upgrade  immediately (because of MYOB's 20xx abismal track record of upgrades) then all the other users would not be seeking them out, infact they would be none the wiser and be opening & closing the data file as they have always done.

 

To take your scenario a step further;

Then, some time later (after prudently waiting several months for confirmation that the upgrade is not going to bring down the business), the the admin/owner finally  upgrades the file and then when everyone else logs into it for the first time MYOB auto updates their local software if required.

 

 

gavin12345
Ultimate User
4,004 Posts
Ultimate User
Australia
Ultimate User

4,004Posts

1,167Kudos

532Solutions

Re: Please restrict non Admin Users from Upgrading the company file

Hi @Freman and @Sinclair 

 

Automatic updates can be avoided and you can schedule an update when it suits you - a little bit of mucking around is required on all users computers, but it can be done - see here (and there are other posts by other users with similar workarounds). I have avoided being surprised by the last 3 updates using this method. Once the update is 'safe' you can then apply it. The general idea is to specify exactly which version each user should run.

 

Regards

Gavin

Didn't find your answer here?

Try using advanced search to find a post more easily Advanced Search
or
Get the conversation started and make a new post Start a Post