LOAN TRANSACTIONS

This thread is now closed to new comments.
Some of the links and information provided in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question please start a new post.
Highlighted
2 Posts
Cover User
Cover User

2Posts

1Kudos

0Solutions

Solved: Go to Solution

LOAN TRANSACTIONS

Hi!  Hope someone can help me - I'm a novice at this!  We have a flexi loan - similar to a mastercard - line of credit (which reconciled last month because I paid off the entire balance but this month it doesn't seem to work as I have not paid the loan off completely).

2/8 - The flexi loan had 2 charges put on it - $13.31 interest and $10 monthly service fee debited to it.

16/8 - I transferred $100 from my working account to the flexi loan account (which is a 2-*** account) to reflect a payment on the loan.

My queries are two-fold:

1)  How do I treat the initial flexi loan charges?  It doesn't seem to fit into spend money as I haven't spent it - it's a charge; When I do the transaction as spend money - it is 2 sided (debit & credit on the bank reconciliation) and

2)  How do I treat the transfer - I have just recorded it as a transfer - does it need to be recorded as a payment instead.

I have sat here most of the day trying to do my bank reconciliation and have tried everything so I'm sorry that I appear a bit brain dead.  Hope someone can help me!!

2 REPLIES 2
Highlighted
Super Partner
236 Posts
Super Partner
Australia
Super Partner

236Posts

314Kudos

46Solutions

Accepted Solution Solved

Re: LOAN TRANSACTIONS

@Hi @LEONIET

In AccountRight, when under the Bank Reconciliation menu there is a handy button you can click to add these types of charges. 

Capture.PNG

Once you've clicked on the Bank Entry button you can select to enter interest earned or a service charges. 

In your case both would be entered as service charges. Debit Expense account (interest expense for example) credit liability (flexi loan)