36 Posts
Experienced Cover User
Australia
Experienced Cover User

36Posts

38Kudos

0Solutions

Re: Unit price showing 6 decimal places

To paraphrase an old quotation the silence from the MYOB bunker has been deafening. There has been no effective response whatsoever to this limp wristed adjustment to systems without giving the customer the opportunity to customise the format.

I have had to completely revise my invoicing formats to use a tax inclusive price option on the invoice to replace the invoice format I have been using for 15 years.

It would appear MYOB changed the invoicing format because a few customers could not reconcile the fact that some calculations would result in rounding errors of a few cents so the solution was to express the dollar quantities to 6 parts in a million to reconcile the arithmetic, but completely destroy the ambience of the invoice.

As I have stated numerous times that 45 years ago I was using a half rounding algorithm in Fortran COBOL and Basic to round quantities to 2 decimal places on print formatting. It would appear that the ability to insert a three line coding adjustment with the option of setting a number of decimal places for rounding is beyond the wet behind the ears programmers employed by MYOB. Furthermore no manner of complaint/request/ insult results in any change whatsoever, not even an acknowledgement of the problem.

MYOB Moderator Steven_M
32,660 Posts
MYOB Moderator
New Zealand
MYOB Moderator

32,660Posts

4,360Kudos

0Solutions

Hi @fazman  @angelog 

Thank you for feedback in regards to this situation.

AccountRight 2019.2 showing 6 decimal places for the item prices is something that we are investigating. This is something that our team are currently working towards for our next update AccountRight 2019.3. At this stage, as the update is still in development we don't have an estimated timeframe for when that update will be available for all clients.