LSL - Setup for payroll

This thread is now closed to new comments.
Some of the links and information provided in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question please start a new post.
Highlighted
Experienced Cover User
14 Posts
Experienced Cover User
Australia
Experienced Cover User

14Posts

1Kudos

0Solutions

Solved: Go to Solution

LSL - Setup for payroll

I'm new to setting up Payroll Categories.  I need to set up provision for LSL for two types of employees.  We are in SA so they get 13 weeks LSL after 10 years' service.  I want the $ amount that is accrued each pay to affect a liabilities account accordingly. 

I guess I need to set up an Entitlements category, but I can't find a way to attribute a liability account that way, so maybe it needs to be an expense category??  Can someone please advise what type of category and how to set it/them up for these two scenarios:
1. A full time employee. This is a bit unusual as the LSL accrual to be attibuted will be about twice the wage (due to an unusual requirement).

2. A casual employee.  who receives $300 per week, each week. This employee works 19.5 hours each week.

I would also like to know how the % is worked out.  Is it 13 (weeks) divided by 10 (years) divided by 52 (weeks) x 100 which equals 2.5%?  Thus, someone on $1000 per week would have $25 added to the liability account??

2 REPLIES 2
Highlighted
Ultimate Partner
4,552 Posts
Ultimate Partner
Australia
Ultimate Partner

4,552Posts

3,304Kudos

721Solutions

Accepted Solution Solved

Re: LSL - Setup for payroll

@RobNob

Entitlements are accrued in hours not $$ and are not converted in the software to allow a direct 'feed' to a liability account. More on this later

1. A full time employee. This is a bit unusual as the LSL accrual to be attributed will be about twice the wage (due to an unusual requirement).