MYOBCommunity
Partner Zone
|
|
Partner Zone

MAS Reporter in Remote Desktop Server

This thread is now closed to new comments.
Some of the links provided in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question please start a new post.
Highlighted
Partner Gumby
10 Posts
Partner
Australia
Gumby
Partner

10Posts

1Kudos

1Solutions

Solved: Go to Solution

MAS Reporter in Remote Desktop Server

Anybody know how to improve the performance of MAS Reporter in a Remote Desktop Environment

 

We are experiencing the following

 

1. Extended loading time (sometimes up to 2-3 minutes)

2. Exiting the application sometimes crashes MAS Ledger

3. Reporter sometime does not load at all

 

I have tested the environment with our Virus Scanner (Kaspersky) on & off as well as the Windows Firewall off.

(Placed all the executables in the Reporter directory into our virus scanner to be bypassed)

 

The Server is "Windows Server 2012 R2"

 

All users have User Access (but have tested it with an administrator with same results)

C Drive is hidden (but accessible)

User Profile Disks active

 

Any ideas would be appreciated

 

Mat G

 

13 REPLIES 13
Partner SB_Systems
93 Posts
Partner
Australia
SB_Systems
Partner

93Posts

68Kudos

13Solutions

Re: MAS Reporter in Remote Desktop Server

Hi @Gumby,

 

There is a couple of things we do as standard on 2012 R2 servers for compatibility and performance.

 

1. Make sure you have disabed UAC. In 2012 R2, this means changing the registry DWORD EnableLUA to 0 in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\policies\system this requires a reboot to tak effect. I recommened you do this on the file server and RDS hosts.

 

2. Disable data execution prevention. To do this open an elevated command prompt (or do this after you disable UAC and reboot) and run: bcdedit /set nx alwaysoff. I recommend you do this on the file server and RDS hosts.

 

3. I noticed you mentioned you use profile disks. Reporert and MAS both store temporary files in the users profile. I would recommend using performance monitor to check for Current Disk Queue Length on a users profile disk that is experiencing the slowness. You may find there is either network latency, or more likely, disk queues occuring on your physical storage.

 

Let mek now how you go and I may be able to help further if that doesn't fix it.

 

Please note: this information is provided as is and no liability is accepted if you break your system.

Stewart Williams
Smart Business Systems
1300 798 717 | www.sbsystems.com.au

Please remember to give Kudos if someone has helped resolve your problem.
MYOB Moderator MattN
693 Posts
MYOB Moderator
MattN
MYOB Moderator

693Posts

84Kudos

86Solutions

Re: MAS Reporter in Remote Desktop Server

Hi @Gumby

 

The suggestions provided by @SB_Systems are spot on!

 

MAS and reporter are definitely working fine in a Windows 2012 R2 environ - however, there are a few things as suggested, that need to be done to ensure it runs correctly.

 

Also, make sure you are running the latest releases of MAS and Reporter - earlier versions will not work correctly under Server 2012, and 2012R2.

 


cheers,

Matt
Product and Technical Specialist
Practice Solutions
MYOB Australia Pty Ltd
Partner Gumby
10 Posts
Partner
Australia
Gumby
Partner

10Posts

1Kudos

1Solutions

Re: MAS Reporter in Remote Desktop Server

Thanks everyone for your replies

 

In response

 

1. Yes, UAC is turned off

 

2. Yes, DEP is turned off

 

3. Pinged a 655000 byte file with a result of <5ms

    Also removed the User Disk Profile setting and ran the Profile locally, same issue

 

4. Running the correct version of Reporter (less the most up to date Templates, but software is up tp date)

    Version 3.4 (build 18)

 

PS.  Accessing Designer works fine

 

FYI - these issues are spasmodic.

 

Regards,

 

Mat G

 

 

 

Partner SB_Systems
93 Posts
Partner
Australia
SB_Systems
Partner

93Posts

68Kudos

13Solutions

Re: MAS Reporter in Remote Desktop Server

Hi @Gumby,

 

As the issue is sporadic it is going to be hard to troubleshoot. Next time it occurs, if you can try and capture some performance information of the client and server it may help find the answer.

 

I noticed you said the network ping is < 5ms, for a local network it should be < 1ms. Over this amount I would be concerned there is potentially network latency. I know this may sound like nitpicking, but for a local (presumably) gigabit network, ping responses over <1ms raise a red flag.

 

In any event, if you can gather any more information, I'll try and help you futher.

 

Cheers.

Stewart Williams
Smart Business Systems
1300 798 717 | www.sbsystems.com.au

Please remember to give Kudos if someone has helped resolve your problem.
Partner Gumby
10 Posts
Partner
Australia
Gumby
Partner

10Posts

1Kudos

1Solutions

Re: MAS Reporter in Remote Desktop Server

Thanks Stewart for your reply.

 

I pinged a 1bit file using ping {servername} and got a <1ms response

 

So I deceided to ping a larger bit file {65500 bit} to stress test the latency.  This is when I get the <5ms response

(Command = ping -l 65500 {servername}

 

Regards,

 

Mat G

 

 

Partner Gumby
10 Posts
Partner
Australia
Gumby
Partner

10Posts

1Kudos

1Solutions

Re: MAS Reporter in Remote Desktop Server

Ok, Completely re-did the RDP Server again, testing reporter along the way.

 

I have located the problem but not the fix

 

As part of the initial build I did what Stewart previously mentioned. 

 

"Make sure you have disabed UAC. In 2012 R2, this means changing the registry DWORD EnableLUA to 0 inHKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\policies\system this requires a reboot to tak effect. I recommened you do this on the file server and RDS hosts."

 

This was the issue.  If I turned UAC back on Reporter works fine.

 

The problem now is that the UAC login is now required for MYOB AE.

 

Any ideas?

 

Regards,

 

Mat G

 

 

MYOB Moderator MattN
693 Posts
MYOB Moderator
MattN
MYOB Moderator

693Posts

84Kudos

86Solutions

Re: MAS Reporter in Remote Desktop Server

Hi @Gumby

 

Setting the value of "EnableLUA" to 0 forces the UAC prompts etc to be disabled completely.

 

 


cheers,

Matt
Product and Technical Specialist
Practice Solutions
MYOB Australia Pty Ltd
Partner Gumby
10 Posts
Partner
Australia
Gumby
Partner

10Posts

1Kudos

1Solutions

Re: MAS Reporter in Remote Desktop Server

Yes, that fixes the MYOB AE UAC Prompt but mentioned above make Reporter run badly!

MYOB Moderator MattN
693 Posts
MYOB Moderator
MattN
MYOB Moderator

693Posts

84Kudos

86Solutions

Re: MAS Reporter in Remote Desktop Server

Hi @Gumby

 

There is no reason for Reporter to "run badly" if the UAC is disabled - in fact, it should run with less interference.

 

I would suggest ensuring EnableLUA is set to 0, then restart, then reinstall Reporter and see if that resolves the issue.

 

 


cheers,

Matt
Product and Technical Specialist
Practice Solutions
MYOB Australia Pty Ltd
Didn't find your answer here?
Try using advanced search to find a post more easily Advanced Search
or
Get the conversation started and make a new post Start a Post