37 Posts
Experienced User
Experienced User

37Posts

4Kudos

0Solutions

Solved: Go to Solution

Electronic Payments and the Electronics Payments Clearing Account

I seem to have got myself into a bit of a mess with Electronic Payments and the Electronic Payments Clearing account.

Firstly, I don't want to have the Electronic Payments thing set up - happy to record a payment in MYOB and then manually go into my online bank account and make the payment from there.  How do I turn Electronic Payments off?  Everytime I try and create a new bill, it seems to default to Electronic Payments, and if I uncheck that option, it changes the account from which the payment will be recorded

Secondly, how do I clear out all the transactions in the bank file payments list without stuffing up all my accounts?

I've only got about 3 weeks of transactions as I'm pretty new to MYOB Essentials, but want to sort out the messs I've created, and then understand how to do it correctly so I don't create the same mess again!

Cheers,

Mike 

3 REPLIES 3
Steven_M
45,180 Posts
Former Staff
New Zealand
Former Staff

45,180Posts

0Kudos

6,759Solutions

Accepted Solution Solved

Re: Electronic Payments and the Electronics Payments Clearing Account

Hi @maustin 

If you go to Accounting>>Manage linked accounts, what account do you have listed as the Bank account for electronic payments

In your case, it sounds like you have got the main bank account listed as that Bank account for electronic payments (or the account that you use to make payment on bills). Having that main bank account set forces all payments to be treated as electronic payments thus will appear in the Bank file payments window. What you want to do is have that Bank Account for electronic payments set to be a clearing account like the Electronic Clearing account.