Owners income

This thread is now closed to new comments.
Some of the links and information provided in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question please start a new post.
Evergreen3
2 Posts
User

2Posts

0Kudos

0Solutions

Owners income

I am a sole trader running a gardening business.  My customers pay by directly into my business account and I draw all payments out into my personal account (as income).  What should I be allocating this from my bank feed?  Is this Owners Funds Introduced/Personal Income OR Owners Drawings/Personal Expenses?   Very confusing???

2 REPLIES 2
Yanike_S
MYOB Moderator
2,585 Posts
MYOB Moderator
MYOB Moderator

2,585Posts

159Kudos

380Solutions

Re: Owners income

Hi @Evergreen3 

Thanks for your post. Generally speaking any money you draw out of your business into your personal account would be allocated to an equity account. If you want you can rename the accounts to avoid confusion: Accounts list.

If you are not sure on which accounts to use in your situation I would recommend speaking to your accounting advisor.

Kind regards,
Yanike

MYOB Community Support

Online Help| Forum Search| my.MYOB| Download Page

Did my answer help?

Mark it as a SolutionHelpful? Leave a to tell others

The_Doc
Ultimate Partner
1,537 Posts
Ultimate Partner
Australia
Ultimate Partner

1,537Posts

165Kudos

162Solutions

Re: Owners income

Hi @Evergreen3

Sounds confusing.

If you are running a sole trading business you should at least in MYOB try and keep personal and business distinct - else you will pay for your accountant to sort it out.

@Yanike_S is right but didn't quite explain it enough probably because MYOB moderattors a conservative in accounting information.

If you have gone to the trouble of setting up an MYOB file for your business then you should try and keep private and personal at arms length - a very good thing to do with the ATO.