10 Posts
Contributing Cover User
Australia
Contributing Cover User

10Posts

0Kudos

0Solutions

Account Lists for non-bank lending Companies ie. afterpay

Hi, I'm very new to the MYOB accounting side of essentials and require assistance on how the following accounts should be set up in Accounts List;

* Afterpay

* Prospa

* Lattitude Pay

* ZipPay

* OpenPay

Should the opening balance reflect the limit of monies available to use be what is put here? ie. Prospa grants access to $10K however you spend from it like a credit card.

I noticed the accounts set up by advise of the original accountant do not have an opening balance or reflect any fees (ie. late fees for late payments in Afterpay $10) as I don't have the transactions imported to the account as I do the working bank account for day to day transactions.

Hopefully I've not confused anyone and would welcome any assistance?

Also, how do you find out whether the fees attract GST or not. Afterpay does not appear to include GST in the $10 late fees however account transaction/set up fees?

Thank you in advance. 

Are there any good MYOB face to face training courses in Brisbane?

Cheers

Nardja

3 REPLIES 3
Tracey_H
MYOB Moderator
5,716 Posts
MYOB Moderator
MYOB Moderator

5,716Posts

786Kudos

909Solutions

Re: Account Lists for non-bank lending Companies ie. afterpay

Hi @Waves 

Thanks for your post. How you set these accounts up will depend on how you are using those companies. For example, do you allow your customers to Afterpay products they purchase from you or are you paying for purchases with Afterpay.

A liability is money that you owe so the general rule is that if you borrow money and have to make repayments you would set that company up as a liability account. Using Prospa as an example, you would create a liability account and set the Type field as Credit Card.