3 Posts
User
Samiauto

3Posts

0Kudos

0Solutions

Disposal of Motor Vehicle

Hello,

I am a small business owner and am trying my best to learn to do some of my accounting so my knowledge is fairly basic.

I have a question regarding the sale of a motor vehicle. I have tried to follow a few other solutions but it does not seem to be right to me.

I purchased the vehicle a few years ago for 13043.00 excluding gst it was coded to motor vehicle assets. I have been coding the depreciation to journals cr motor vehicle assets accumulated depreciation and dr depreciation. It was sold for the book value of 8021.46 excl gst and coded to sale of assets.

I created a sales invoice for the vehicle coding it to sale of assets. I think this is right.

The journal to show the sale of the asset is where i come un stuck. 

I have a cr to accnt motor vehicle assets for 13043.00

I have a dr to accnt sale of assets for 13043.00

I have a dr to accnt motor vehicle assets accumulated depreciation for 5,021.54

I have a cr to accnt sale of assets for 5021.54

My amount totals to 18064.54, should this amount not come out at the vehicle sell price of 8021.46?

Should my dr to sale of assets be what i actually sold the vehicle for which was 8021.46? 

4 REPLIES 4
Ultimate Partner The_Doc
195 Posts
Ultimate Partner
Australia
The_Doc
Ultimate Partner

908Posts

159Kudos

120Solutions

Re: Disposal of Motor Vehicle

hi @Samiauto 

Before I attmept to answer this a question - was the vehicle financed.

Secondly - when it comes to creating a journal for this entire process - unless you are really experienced MYOB user with years of use of doing things like this the process can be simplified by breaking it into small steps - you are trying to eat a MacDonalds burger in 1 mouthful and unfortunately it is choking you.

Also you have mentioned gst excl but it is fully part of this process and cannot simply be ignored and hoped to sort itself out - are you registered for GST?

The Doc

Samiauto