6 Posts
Contributing User
Contributing User

6Posts

0Kudos

0Solutions

Solved: Go to Solution

Question about Accounting period in GL transactions

Hi All, I am a newbie to the MYOB world so apologies in advance if I get the terminology wrong.
I am trying to get an understanding of whether the application captures the period in which a general ledger transaction (GL journal, system or manual) . Have liked at the user guide and cannot see any reference to this setup.
Also tried to look at the data from the back end table (via ODBC) but none of the files I have seen GeneralJournal have this.
Any help in this appreciated
Regards
Saurabh
5 REPLIES 5
MYOB Moderator Neil_M
11,789 Posts
MYOB Moderator
MYOB Moderator

11,789Posts

1,385Kudos

0Solutions

Re: Question about Accounting period in GL transactions

HI @Pansa90 

Are you able to clarify your enquiry, so that we can assist better? When you say “captures the period” are you meaning the date the journal was entered in compared with its date or something else?

Regards,
Neil

MYOB Community Support

Online Help| Forum Search| my.MYOB| Download Page

Did my answer help?

Mark it as a SolutionHelpful? Leave a to tell others

Contributing User Pansa90
6 Posts
Contributing User
Contributing User

6Posts

0Kudos

0Solutions

Hi @Neil_M 

Will try and explain - and aplogies in advance for the long post.

When i say capture i mean stores the values. E.g in one of the Financial  system i worked with - we had a GL Calendar which did not span the same as the Monthly calendar

e.g P7 July 2019 -- is between 1st July to 2nd August. 

Therefore when creating a GL journal - you not only enter a Transaction date (say 01-08-2019) but also specify the period 07-2019 (as this transaction need to be posted to July Period)

Trying to understand if MYOB has a similar concept. I.e when creating a GL Journal do you enter the Period information anywhere - or does it default based on the month of the Transaction line.