4 Posts
User

4Posts

1Kudos

0Solutions

Solved: Go to Solution

opening balance entry

Hi there

I am new to MYOB Essentials and trying to set up the accounts.  I have entered the Opening Balance in the Accounts list which is a loan from a friend.  Do I also have to enter this as a receive money or transfer funds?

5 REPLIES 5
MYOB Product Team Haydes
6,211 Posts
MYOB Product Team
Australia
MYOB Product Team

6,211Posts

1,031Kudos

888Solutions

Re: opening balance entry

Hi @Deepa1 

In short: if you have entered your opening balance for the loan account as well as the bank account then you do not have to enter the incoming money as this will effectively double up the balances on both accounts as transactions simply add onto the existing balances set by the opening balances.

Hope this clears things up.

Cheers,

Hayden (Ex-Moderator)
MYOB Product Team
Deepa1
4 Posts
User

4Posts

1Kudos

0Solutions

Hi Hayden

Thank you for your prompt response.  I have entered it in Accounts list under 2-4200 long term liability as loan.  I have also entered it in 3-9999 as Historical balancing as negative figure.  Are you saying I need to enter is under Asset, Banking 1-1000 bank account too?

MYOB Product Team Haydes
6,211 Posts
MYOB Product Team
Australia
MYOB Product Team

6,211Posts

1,031Kudos

888Solutions

Accepted Solution Solved

Hi @Deepa1 

The idea here is to enter the current amount into the Loan Account as of the Opening Balance Date as well as the current Bank Account balance as of the Opening Balance Date.

For example if the Opening Balance Date was 01/05, I'd enter the Opening Balance Date for the Bank Account as the same amount as the Closing Balance for that account on 30/04. The same with the Loan account, you would enter the Opening Balance for that date as the Closing Balance as the previous day.