Partner Zone

Activation and Confirmation of company files guide

This thread is now closed to new comments.
Some of the links and information provided in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question please start a new post.
Steven_M
45,180 Posts
Former Staff
New Zealand
Former Staff

45,180Posts

0Kudos

6,759Solutions

Activation and Confirmation of company files guide

Hi Everyone

 

Needing to confirm AccountRight Classic (v19 or below), AccountEdge or NZ Payroll files? Check out Self-serve confirmation for older MYOB products for more information on our self-service portal to complete the task yourself.


Activation and Confirmation is a process by which you verify that you are using an authentic product. The process authenticates your product serial number (stored in the company file) against the MYOB software database.


There are a few methods to confirm your company file:

  • Confirm Online - you would select Confirm Online from the Confirmation Assistant. This is the recommended option but does require an internet connection.

  • Confirm by Phone - you would select Confirm by Phone from the Confirmation Assistant and provide MYOB with information to confirm the file.
    • AccountRight v19 or below - Company file code 
    • AccountRight 2011 or above - Version and Company file ID

What happens when confirmation isn't working?

There are a variety of reasons why confirmation will not work as intended. Help Article: Activation and confirmation errors would be able to assist that process. 

The most commonly encountered one for users, generally on older products and older Operating Systems (Windows 8.1 or prior), would be a TLS error and not being able to connect to the online confirmation service. We do recommend ensuring that you upgrade to a newer Windows version. However, in the meantime, the following can be done to confirm your file online: We do recommend consulting with an IT professional with respect to the below workaround

  1. Close AccountRight.
  2. Open the Windows Control Panel (click the Windows Start button and type control panel then click Control Panel in the displayed results).
  3. Set the View by to Small icons.
  4. Click Internet Options.
  5. Click the Advanced tab.
  6. Scroll down to the bottom of the Settings.
  7. Select the option Use TLS 1.2
  8. Click OK.
  9. Start AccountRight and try to activate/confirm again.

What is the Confirmed Later option?

Depending on when you last opened the file and the last confirmation date, you may receive the option of Confirm Later. This will allow you direct access to the company file to allow you to work for that session while prompting you next time to confirm the file. This commonly is available for 14 days from the last confirmation date.

 

Need more help?
Our teams are happy to assist with the confirmation of company files, including through this Community Forum channel - we do recommend starting a new post, although we do require some information such as - all can be found by selecting to Confirm Later or selecting Confirm by phone:

  • The serial number of the product -  Setup>>Company Information
  • The company file ID - Help>>About AccountRight
  • The version of the software you are - Help>>About AccountRight
  • If you are on AccountRight Classic (v19 or below) - the Company file code

Please note: We do value your privacy and security on this Forum. If you are needing assistance with your confirmation through this channel, the last four digits of your serial number are all that is required. The MYOB Support Moderator team will request additional information in a Forum private message if required.

Kind regards,
Steven

MYOB Community Support

Online Help| Forum Search| My Account

Didn't find your answer here?

Try using advanced search to find a post more easily Advanced Search
or
Get the conversation started and make a new post Start a Post