Partner Zone
Partner Zone

How to correct duplicate entry of an old expense

This thread is now closed to new comments.
Some of the links provided in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question please start a new post.
Highlighted
AmandaZ
2 Posts
User
Australia
AmandaZ

2Posts

0Kudos

0Solutions

Solved: Go to Solution

How to correct duplicate entry of an old expense

Hi, hoping someone can help me. I've been doing our home business books for years but let me just say upfront I am a TOTAL amateur and accounting lingo goes straight over my head! Not sure how I've even gotten this far really....

Anyway, I have always had a problem of an old transaction for an expense showing up when I go to reconcile my accounts. It dates back to 2010 and appears to be unreconciled. Having thought I did everything correctly and still being able to reconcile each quarter at BAS time, I didn't worry too much and just left it.

Six years on I've now purged a heap of old data including unreconciled transactions, which means it's now disappeared at reconcilation time. Problem is, my accounts now won't reconcile. I've manually checked my bank account against what's in MYOB and its definately correct. The amount it thinks I am out is coincidentally the exact amount of this old transaction that was recently purged (of course!). 

I've dug through some of my backup files and have finally realised that this unreconciled transaction that was sitting there this whole time was in fact a duplicate transaction! MYOB was trying to tell me something the whole time and the amateur I am I ignored it!

What should I do now to fix this? Bearing in mind this duplicate transaction is not there anymore, it's been purged. It is saying it's calculated a balance on my account less than what I entered, so I'm out -$1,417.05.  

To compound thngs, we are still using a really old MYOB. Business Basics from 2008!

Thanks in advance Cat Happy

3 REPLIES 3
MYOB Staff Post LeightonJ