Forum Discussion

myob11
Contributing User
9 months ago

GST Detail Report

Hi there,

When running the GST Detail Report for calculating our quarterly BAS, I have noticed that in the N-T part of the report, not all our transactions are appearing.

The transactions missing relate to where money has been transferred from Bank Account 1 to Bank Account 2 and vice versa. In this screenshot you can see the first line 'Transfer to Agri' which was an $8000 'purchase' (from account 1 to 2), however it does not show the $8000 'sale' (i.e the money appearing in bank account 2).

I hope this makes sense, and that someone can explain why this happens. Of course this does not affect the BAS however my question is more to understand why these transactions are not included in this report - perhaps I am entering incorrectly (currently entered as spend money / receive money rather than a transfer). I am new to book keeping so like to understand why/how things are working.

Let me know if I can provide more information.

3 Replies

Replies have been turned off for this discussion
    Celia_B
    MYOB Moderator

Hi myob11,

Thank you for your post and welcome to the Community Forum.

The tax code N-T is not reportable and thus, transactional lines marked with that tax code will not appear in the GST based reports. The exception to that is, if it is a reportable line on the transaction (GST) then you will report the N-T portion. 

In terms of the Display in GST (BAS) reports option in the Record Journal Entry it is a required field for those transactions recorded via this window to denote how AccountRight will display the transaction. However, for those transactions that are not N-T transactions (all transactions have N-T as their tax code) then that selected option will not impact the GST or BAS reports. 

I hope this helps. If you need further assistance with this, feel free to post again. We are happy to assist you. 

Best Regards,

Cel

myob11
      Contributing User

Hi Celia,