Backing up message prior to closing

Highlighted
Trusted Cover User
102 Posts
Trusted Cover User
Trusted Cover User

102Posts

56Kudos

4Solutions

Solved: Go to Solution

Backing up message prior to closing

I am not liking the feature that the backup is not finishing and then closing MYOB... It takes ages for the backup to run, so I normally close MYOB, it asks me if I want to do a backup, I say yes and then walk away for the day, knowing it will close MYOB. Now I come in in the morning and have this dialog box saying the backup is finished, so MYOB is still open - can we have the option to do backup and then close MYOB back please?


Disappointed that we still cant remail receipts to customers though Smiley Sad

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
MYOB Moderator
36,949 Posts
MYOB Moderator
New Zealand
MYOB Moderator

36,949Posts

5,004Kudos

5,400Solutions

Re: AccountRight 2020.2 is now available

Hi @lrj17 

 

We have identified that some clients are unable to drag and drop documents from Outlook into their In Tray. This is something that our teams are investigating and is unrelated to the AccountRight 2020.2 update.

Kind regards,
Steven

MYOB Community Support

Online Help| Forum Search| my.MYOB| Download Page

Did my answer help?

Mark it as a SolutionHelpful? Leave a to tell others

Highlighted
Trusted Cover User
102 Posts
Trusted Cover User
Trusted Cover User

102Posts

56Kudos

4Solutions

Re: AccountRight 2020.2 is now available

Hi @Steven_M ,
before the upgrade, every time I closed MYOB it would ask me if I wanted to backup (which I had set in the preferences for it to ask me).

 

after the upgrade, it asks me if I want to do a backup, I kick off the backup, but it doesn't close MYOB anymore, it just sits there with a dialog box saying the backup is complete. Once I click OK on that, then MYOB closes.

 

But - it used to take forever for the backup to finish, so I used to do it before I left my desk for the day, knowing it would close MYOB once done.

However, the backups don't appear to be taking as long now, so it may not be an issue, but would it be possible to not have the dialog and MYOB would just close once done, so we don't have to hang around waiting for it to finish and close MYOB?

Highlighted
MYOB Moderator
36,949 Posts
MYOB Moderator
New Zealand
MYOB Moderator

36,949Posts

5,004Kudos

5,400Solutions

Accepted Solution Solved

Re: Backing up message prior to closing

Hi @doublet 


Doing further testing with an online file, I have been able to replicate what you are describing. When the user does select to backup upon closing the following prompt will appear which the user is required to select Close to close the message and if required the file.


I've passed on that information and testing across to our team to see if that is intended behaviour or something that we can look at improving with future updates.

 

Attachment.PNG

Kind regards,
Steven

MYOB Community Support

Online Help| Forum Search| my.MYOB| Download Page

Did my answer help?

Mark it as a SolutionHelpful? Leave a to tell others

Highlighted
Trusted Cover User
102 Posts
Trusted Cover User
Trusted Cover User

102Posts

56Kudos

4Solutions

Re: Backing up message prior to closing

thank you Steven - the backup is only taking about a tenth of the time or even less now, so it's not too much of an issue now. Was taking up to 30 minutes or so, but now only takes a minute or so, so I pleased with that (and yes, I am on the NBN!)

cheers

Didn't find your answer here?

Try using advanced search to find a post more easily Advanced Search
or
Get the conversation started and make a new post Start a Post