API Question - POST Item

This thread is now closed to new comments.
Some of the links and information provided in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question please start a new post.
The_Doc
Ultimate Partner
1,537 Posts
Ultimate Partner
Australia
Ultimate Partner

1,537Posts

236Kudos

162Solutions

Solved: Go to Solution

API Question - POST Item

Hi Folks

Thought I might get lucky with an API knowledgeable user able to answer this question quickly.

I am an API developer and GET and POST many things via the API, however, I have never POSTed an inventory item change via the API.

Inventory updates are easy via the import facility and you only require the MYOB Number as an mandatory field.

The endpoint information on the Developers web is NOT easy to understand so that when I have to use a new Endpoint POST I only get it right by trial and error and filtering the errors returned - correcting these and trying again.

I need to POST back to a live MYOB file running a fully configured inventory system 2 fields regularly from an integrator I have running.

Custom List 2 and item Standard Cost.

The Developer endpoint info shows 2 mandatory fields 

1. item UID ( no problem)

2. MYOB Number (again no problem) - easy though I have asked through the Developers email why they need 2 mandatory fields - if we only needed the UID we would have a means to bulk update MYOB Numbers which we cannot do via the import feature - that is an aside)

My question - the document is not clear - and I am trying to cut the trial and error out here - do I need any other information to POST these updates.

The Doc

4 REPLIES 4
Mike_James
Ultimate Partner
5,839 Posts
Ultimate Partner
New Zealand
Ultimate Partner

5,839Posts

1,080Kudos

755Solutions

Accepted Solution Solved

Re: API Question - POST Item