Forum Discussion

Judy01
Trusted Cover User
4 years ago
Solved

Category Reports not showing correct data

I have been using category reports for several months with no problems up until now. The figures fir my 2 categories do not match the total in the balance Sheet. One category seems to be reporting ok but the other category figures are completely wrong. I have ticked the setting to ensure a category must ne chosen for every entry.

What is the fix for this as i have month end accounts to do right now.?

• HI Judy01 

To work out the required transactions that are missing in those category reports you would be looking at comparing the Category Transactions [Accrual] report with that of the Account Transactions [Accrual] report. By comparing these reports it will show you all the transactions record for an account to which you can compare to all transactions recorded for a category. Should these be different you can then investigate the required transactions with respect to the categories.

4 Replies

Replies have been turned off for this discussion
  • Hi Judy01 

Within AccountRight 2021, category transactions are recorded on the initial transaction, however, will not flow through to secondary transactions involving that category transaction. For example, you can select a category on a Bill, that Bill payment will reflect the category, however, if the payment is set to electronic payments that electronic payment transaction does use the category. As a result, category reports may disagree with that of the overall company file's reports.