Forum Discussion

dudleygb
Contributing User
2 years ago

Newbie Sole Trader (IT Contractor) high level setup pathway

Hello all,

Yes, another newbie here :)

I am going through a lot of material/training/wiki/howto/videos etc etc, but I have a few questions on how to proceed, in my specific case.

I recently moved from a PAYG employee to a contractor role, where I get my wages paid, which includes GST and SUPER. I've been PAYG since July 2023 to Nov 2023. 

I have a dedicated business bank account. I have been paid for 2 invoices so far. I transferred these amounts to my business account. 

I am trying to figure out how to pay myself. i.e. remove the GST, SUPER and INCOME TAX from my wages and pay myself the balance. I assume I need to record tax paid to date, somewhere, so the correct tax will be calculated?

I have setup bank feeds, but it has not picked up the transfers I made prior, do I need to upload a statement rather?

What is the high level process to get MYOB setup so I can slice these 2 invoices up correctly?

Really appreciate any pointers.

6 Replies

Replies have been turned off for this discussion
  • Hi dudleygb 

Thanks for your post and welcome to the Community Forum. 

I'd recommend speaking to your accountant about this to ensure you are meeting the ATO obligations for your business structure.

Generally speaking, a sole trader pays income tax on the business income and can't be an employee of the business. This means that invoices would be entered as sales and allocated to income account(s). Any expenses would be entered as purchases and allocated to expense account(s). If you were registered for GST, your BAS would be calculated based on the income and expenses entered. *This is general information so please do check with your accountant.

As sole traders can't be employed by the business you would need to check with your accountant about private drawings and personal super contributions.