Forum Discussion

sumroy
Contributing User
3 years ago
Solved

How to allocate Two payments made against single payroll transaction on my bank feed

Hi,

I am new in MyOb as well new in my org. My org is using AccountRight.

I am facing problem to match two payments against single payroll transaction.

We pay to the employee weekly (sort of advance).

For example. We paid $700 to an employee on Friday for one week (lets date is 25/02/2022). On Monday (28/02/2022) we posted/processed the payroll including 8 hrs of overtime. 

So JV is like (considering there is no tax) 

Salary    DR     700

Overtime DR   150

Bank                     CR    850

On 25th Feb I have already transferred 700, so on 28th Feb I have just transferred the remaining 150.

Now, Bank feed showing two payments (700 & 150) but payroll transaction showing one payment from bank i.e 850.

How can I match and allocate through bankfeed?

Please find the attached file for real data. Thanks in advance for your kind assist.

• Hi sumroy 

When I posted my comment I had interpreted your request as the other way around where you have 1 payment and two transactions in the ledger.  The adjustment can come in handy if the payment cannot be matched exactly against the transaction in that you can post a discrepancy to any account you want.

In your case you will not be able to record the entry with an amount that is 'out of balance'.  However it can work the way you have described by utilising a suspense account adjustment (with a negative number to eliminate the 'out of balance' in your example) exactly how you have detailed below.  The second payment will then be made direct to the suspense account and then you will be able to 'match' via the feeds.

5 Replies

Replies have been turned off for this discussion
  • There is another option to add to the ones listed above.