Forum Discussion

EBH210
User
10 months ago
Solved

Loss of entries in Bank Reconciliation

Has anyone ever had a bulk loss of entries on a Reconciliation?  I have entered and reconciled and account and printed off the reconciliation so I know that everything for a 3 month period was entered on the correct account and the account reconciled.  Good thing I printed out the reconciliation.    

Several days later I noticed that the account no longer balanced.  When I went back through the account there was a full three months of entries gone.  The really strange thing is that those entries - in their corresponding accounts - are still there. eg. they show up where they were posted to, but not on the reconciliation.  The other weird thing is that when I went back to when the account commenced with a nil balance, there was a negative total, with no entries on the report.  How is that even possible?  I've never seen anything like this and I have been using MYOB for about 20 years.  Can anyone shed any light on this?

• Hi EBH210

Thanks for your response regarding this issue. I would like to take the time to thank you for staying with MYOB for many years. 

I'm sorry to hear about your reconciliation screen not showing all transactions. Generally, if the "Reconcile Accounts" screen is the only window where transactions are not seen, these transactions are more likely to be hidden.  I would suggest following these steps to make them appear.

1. Open Banking > Reconcile accounts window.
    2. Choose the correct account.
    3. Change the statement date to 31/12/9998.
    4. Mark all transactions checked. 
    5. Copy the Calculated Closing Balance to the Closing Statement Balance.
    6. Click the Reconcile button. 
    7. Undo reconciliation. 

After following these steps, the application will show all transactions that were previously missing. 

Let us know if you require any further assistance with this. 

Cheers,

Genreve 

5 Replies