Forum Discussion

Preshs_Oz's avatar
Preshs_Oz
Experienced Cover User
4 years ago

Inventory - Limiting Staff Access

Hi there,

 

Is it possible somehow to limit certain user access to "view" the Item List only?

Not to drill down to each item.

Essentially, just be able to F5 (refresh) screen so as stock count remains live for them.

 

Note: Our sales team already have access to inventory (which we have limited) but I'd like to limit access further for our warehouse/pick-pack staff.

Ive setup the User: Warehouse.

Given them access to to TimeBilling (as no one uses that here) and linked Inventory to it, but Items List only with a Read Only option.

But it seems they can still drill down on each item.

I have managed however to disable the history of each item from their view (dont ask me how I did it).

I need more however. Please.

 

  • Hello Preshs_Oz 

     

    When you say you made the Warehouse role Read-Only, can I confirm this was done not only in the 'Inventory' options screen of Manager Roles, but also straightaway upon creation in Manage Users?

     

     

    I created a Warehouse User and gave their role the same parameters you indicated (Item History is available to completely untick in the Inventory screen) and set everything possible there to Read-Only as well. 

     

    It does seem that this is the default most limited access if you want the user to be able to view the item list; I was unable to find a workaround that would prohibit them from being able to click into each item. However, within each item, I was unable to effect any changes. Even overtyping figures within the Selling or Buying details, for example, did nothing, as there is no option to save those changes within Read-Only. 

2 Replies

Replies have been turned off for this discussion
  • Emily_B's avatar
    Emily_B
    Former Staff

    Hello Preshs_Oz 

     

    When you say you made the Warehouse role Read-Only, can I confirm this was done not only in the 'Inventory' options screen of Manager Roles, but also straightaway upon creation in Manage Users?

     

     

    I created a Warehouse User and gave their role the same parameters you indicated (Item History is available to completely untick in the Inventory screen) and set everything possible there to Read-Only as well. 

     

    It does seem that this is the default most limited access if you want the user to be able to view the item list; I was unable to find a workaround that would prohibit them from being able to click into each item. However, within each item, I was unable to effect any changes. Even overtyping figures within the Selling or Buying details, for example, did nothing, as there is no option to save those changes within Read-Only. 

    • Preshs_Oz's avatar
      Preshs_Oz
      Experienced Cover User

      Thanks so much Emily!

      I had initially set them up as Read Only, but PRIOR to assigning the roles etc.

      Ive made the change back to Read Only Access at User Setup Point and voila! It works!

      You're a star!